Services You Can Trust
(813) 929-3098
Tax Quiz: Wild State Tax Laws
Written by MJS - Editor
Thursday, 04 April 2019 00:00

Think taxes are simple and filled with common sense? Think again! Enjoy this fun quiz to see how well you know the crazy world of state taxes.

  • If you have a hankering for an apple or banana at work, you’ll pay an extra tax to buy fruit from a vending machine in which state?
    1. Georgia
    2. South Dakota
    3. California
    4. Oregon
  • C. California. Cold food is tax-exempt if purchased at a store, but subject to tax on 33% of the price if you purchase fruit from a vending machine. If you sell fruit in this state...good luck keeping track of the tax.
  • Looking to finally get that “mom” tattoo on your arm? Which of these states charges a 6% tax on that tattoo?
    1. Minnesota
    2. Arkansas
    3. Delaware
    4. Texas
  • B. Arkansas. Body piercings are also taxed at 6%. So if you are waffling between getting that tattoo or a nose ring, you can eliminate taxes as a deciding factor!
  • Have you ever looked at a tree in your yard and thought, “wow, that tree sure is exceptional”? If you have one of these "exceptional" trees on your property you might be entitled to a $3,000 tax deduction in which state?
    1. Hawaii
    2. Missouri
    3. Maine
    4. Alaska
  • A. Hawaii. Worried about how new developments were destroying the environment in the 70’s, the Hawaii State Legislature added the tax deduction for expenditures paid to maintain an exceptional tree.
  • Next time you are at a bakery in this state and the baker lifts the knife to cut your bagel, stop them. It could be a taxable event! Can you name the state?
    1. Utah
    2. Wisconsin
    3. Pennsylvania
    4. New York
  • D. New York. Slicing a bagel meets the state’s definition of prepared food and is subject to an 8 percent sales tax. That goes for applying cream cheese as well.
  • Looking for a long-term retirement tax-savings tip? Which state exempts you from state taxes once you turn 100?
    1. Michigan
    2. New Mexico
    3. Rhode Island
    4. Virginia
  • B. New Mexico. If you are 100 or older and are not claimed as dependent, you are exempt from filing and paying New Mexico personal income tax.

As you enjoy the nice spring weather, spread some of this fun tax knowledge with family and friends.

Tax day is upon us! As we tie a bow on the first tax season using the new tax laws, here's a fun tax quiz you can use to impress your friends with some quirky state tax knowledge. This issue also includes handy metrics to track your business performance, tips to help you decide if you should buy or lease your next vehicle, and five big questions people are asking as the tax deadline approaches.

 

Our Contacts

28949 State Road 54
Wesley Chapel, Fl 33544
Phone: +1 813 929 3098
241890

Connect With Us

Subscribe To Our Monthly Newsletter

For Email Marketing you can trust